Pupppy – “Beans” (Stereogum Premiere)

Purchase, NY has bred an intimidating young scene over the past five years, one not easily rivaled by any of the Empire State’s other musical epicenters. Mitski, LVL Up, Porches, and Crying are just a few notable names who hail from the college town, and now, Pupppy can be added to that list. Pupppy originated in 2013 as the solo project of singer-songwriter Will Rutledge, but it has since evolved into a quartet who will release their debut full-length, Shit In The Apple Pie, later this year on Father/Daughter Records. “Beans” is the album’s contemplative first single; a self-conscious effort to “tell it like it is” and attempt to conquer feelings of inadequacy. “My foot is stuck/ In my mouth/ Until I shove it all the way down/ To the bottom of my throat/ Then I puke/ Truth all over you,” Rutledge sings in the first minute. Shit In The Apple Pie has been a long time in the making, and Rutledge explained the album’s motivations:

The songs on the record are songs I had neglected for a long time due to feeling insecure about them or that they weren’t what I should be writing, recording, and performing — but I really wanted to, and that’s what drove me crazy. So making the decision to create an album felt like I was building a door to leave the old sentiments of insecurity and over-thinking behind to enter into a realm of comfort and confidence.

Listen to “Beans” and check out the Shit In The Apple Pie tracklist below.

Shit In The Apple Pie tracklist:
01 “Beans”
02 “Rodeo Clowns”
03 “Shithead”
04 “Outkast”
05 “Or Maybe We’re Not”
06 “Puking (Merry Christmas)”
07 “Fucked Up”
08 “Doug”
09 “Sundress”

Shit In The Apple Pie is out 4/21 via Father/Daughter. You can pre-order it here.

Tags: Pupppy