Download Animal Collective’s New Digital 12″ New Psycho Actives Vol.1

It would appear that our fucked-up spate of recent weather has Animal Collective in an expansive, experimental mood. The band has just released a pair of new solo songs from its individual members: Avey Tare’s “Tape Player Chants For Winter” and Geologist’s “Stretching Songs For Spring.” They’re both loose, long, woozy zone-outs that find these guys about as unmoored from ideas about song form as they’ve ever been. Together, the two songs make up a free-download “digital split 12″.” Animal Collective say they’re releasing it “in honor of snow on the equinox,” which makes as much sense as anything else. Check out both tracks below.

Download both individual tracks for free at Soundcloud.