Desaparecidos – “City On The Hill” + Payola Details

Desaparecidos – “City On The Hill” + Payola Details

Back in 2002, Desaparecidos, the politically motivated punk band led by Bright Eyes frontman Conor Oberst, released a really great album called Read Music / Speak Spanish. Up until now, that’s the only album they ever managed to release. The band drifted apart after that album dropped, but they got back together in 2010, and they’ve released a handful of really good singles since then. They also signed to Epitaph and let the world know they were working on a new album. Today, we learn that that album is indeed coming out. Payola, Desaparecidos’ sophomore album, is coming in June, and it’ll feature a lot of songs that were on the singles the band has released since reforming. It’ll also feature appearances from Against Me!’s Laura Jane Grace, the So So Glos, and Cursive’s Tim Kasher, the latter of whom guested on the big, chunky song “City On The Hill.” Longtime Oberst collaborator Mike Mogis produced the album. Below, listen to “City On The Hill” and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “The Left Is Right”
02 “The Underground Man”
03 “City On The Hill (Feat. Tim Kasher)
04 “Golden Parachutes” (Feat. Laura Jane Grace)
05 “Radicalized”
06 “MariKKKopa”
07 “Te Amo Camila Vallejo”
08 “Ralphy’s Cut”
09 “Backsell”
10 “Slacktivist” (Feat. So So Glos)
11 “Search The Searches”
12 “10 Steps Behind”
13 “Von Maur Massacre”
14 “Anonymous”
(via Pitchfork)

Payola is out 6/23 on Epitaph.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?