Jim O’Rourke’s Simple Songs Out Next Month

Jim O’Rourke’s long-time label Drag City has released a teaser video for a new release called Simple Songs from the influential artist. His last conventional full-length was 2009’s The Visitor, which wasn’t very conventional at all considering it was a 38-minute orchestral piece. You’d have to go back 14 years to the release of Insignificance for his last record that included traditional pop/rock songs. But O’Rourke has kept busy in the intermittent years, uploading an extensive unreleased back catalog to Bandcamp, putting out a Burt Bacharach tribute album, and contributing to various film scores and collaborative albums.

UPDATE 4/9: Drag City has shared some more details about the new album: It’ll be out 5/19 and will have 8 tracks. Check out the album artwork, a tracklist, and a new teaser video below. Here’s the album’s official description: “There ARE no simple songs — only simple people. And since guns don’t kill people, Simple Songs will have to do. Super-sweet terrorism from our very own latter-day Spector!”

Simple Songs

01 “Friends With Benefits”
02 “That Weekend”
03 “Half Life Crisis”
04 “Hotel Blue”
05 “These Hands”
06 “Last Year”
07 “End Of The Road”
08 “All Your Love”

Preorder Simple Songs here.

Tags: Jim O'Rourke