Refused – “Elektra” + Freedom Details

Refused – “Elektra” + Freedom Details

Here’s some fucking incredible news that nobody was expecting: Refused are fucking back! With a new album! The great Swedish hardcore band broke up almost immediately after releasing their 1998 masterpiece The Shape Of Punk To Come. They got back together to tour in 2012, then claimed that they were done once those dates wrapped up. But they announced more dates earlier this year, and now they’ve got a whole new fucking album called Freedom coming soon.

On the album, the band worked with Arcade Fire/Nick Cave collaborator Nick Launay. And they co-wrote a couple of songs, including the frantically seesawing first single “Elektra,” with fellow Swede and pop super-producer Shellback. That means there’s only one degree of separation between Refused and Taylor Swift now, which is insane and amazing. In a statement, frontman Dennis Lyxzén said, “It’s not a reunion anymore. This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.” Meanwhile, drummer David Sandström says, “Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up. Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us.” Below, check out “Elektra” and the album’s tracklist.

01 “Elektra”
02 “Old Friends / New War”
03 “Dawkins Christ”
04 “Françafrique”
05 “Thought Is Blood”
06 “War On The Palaces”
07 “Destroy The Man”
08 “366”
09 “Servants Of Death”
10 “Useless Europeans”

Freedom is out 6/30 on Epitaph.

more from News