Yukon Blonde – “Saturday Night” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

Yukon Blonde – “Saturday Night” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

Canadian synth-pop band Yukon Blonde have built up a catalogue of perfectly crafted pop songs, but their forthcoming album On Blonde has them expanding into a more sophisticated dance rock sound. Songs like “Como” and “Saturday Night” are euphoric gems of heavenly layered vocals and retro synth leads. It’s no wonder these tracks sound so huge and glossy, with Colin Stewart (Black Mountain, Dan Mangan, Sleepy Sun) producing and Tony Hoffer (M83, Beck, Foster The People Air, Depeche Mode) mixing. In the video for the band’s new single, “Saturday Night”, director Mac Boucher (Grimes’ brother, he of the “Go” video) recreates a French New Wave-inspired photo shoot with drag queen Sapphire as the star. The video, which consists of three seamless one-shot takes, is a cheeky, surrealist trip through a warehouse, complete with clowns, Russian henchmen, and a caricatured photographer. Watch the clip and see the On Blonde track list below.

On Blonde tracklist:

01 “Confused”
02 “Make You Mine”
03 “Como”
04 “I Wanna Be Your Man”
05 “Saturday Night”
06 “Hannah”
07 “Your Broke The Law”
08 “Starvation”
09 “Favourite People”
10 “Jezebel”

On Blonde is out June 16 via Dine Alone. Preorder it here.

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.