Jim O’Rourke’s Catalog Available Digitally For The First Time

The experimental composer and singer-songwriter Jim O’Rourke is perhaps best known for his stint as a member of Sonic Youth, or for his mixing and production work on Wilco’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and A Ghost Is Born, or for his two-album collaboration with Jeff Tweedy and Glenn Kotche as Loose Fur. Before all that he was also part of the obscure but influential post-rock trio Gastr Del Sol. All that aside, O’Rourke has also released an insurmountable amount of material under his own name since the 1989 release of Some Kind Of Pagan, and we’re finally going to be able to legally hear that music in a digital format. His most recent album, Simple Songs, will be out on Drag City this year, and the label announced today that for the first time ever, O’Rourke’s catalogue will finally be made available for digital consumption. Of course, this doesn’t include every single one of his releases, but his most recent work is already downloadable on the Drag City website. Check out which records you can cop online here.

Tags: Jim O'Rourke