The Phoenix Foundation – “Mountain” (Stereogum Premiere)

New Zealand experimental pop sextet the Phoenix Foundation will release sixth album Give Up Your Dreams this summer, and today they’ve shared the opening track. The humongous “Mountain” is indicative of a new focus on rhythm that comes along with the addition of drummer Chris O’Connor, with a tumbling percussive onslaught acting as the current for a hallucinogenic swirl of synths, guitars, and vocals. It reminds me of Yeasayer’s new millennial prog-pop as filtered through the dark psych of latter-day Flaming Lips. Listen below, and check out their “Bob Lennon John Dylan” video too.

Give Up Your Dreams tracklist:

01 “Mountain”
02 “Bob Lennon John Dylan”
03 “Playing Dead”
04 “Prawn”
05 “Jason”
06 “Celestial Bodies”
07 “Silent Orb”
08 “Sunbed”
09 “Give Up Your Dreams”
10 “Myth”

Give Up Your Dreams is out 8/7 via Memphis Industries. Get an instant download of “Mountain” when you pre-order at iTunes, on gold vinyl, or CD.