Those Pretty Wrongs – “Fool Of Myself” (Stereogum Premiere)

The Shakespearean-named duo Those Pretty Wrongs comprises the Freewheelers’ Luther Russell and Jody Stephens, the former drummer and sole surviving founding member of Big Star. We’ve already heard the A-side to their debut 7″ on Burger Records, the lovely acoustic sigh “Lucky Guy,” and now they’re sharing B-side “Fool Of Myself.” The song captures the perpetual cycle of reignited hope and embarrassment that comes with harboring a crush on a friend, but it never dips into maudlin lovelorn anguish territory, always buoyed up an infectiously jaunty chorus. The awesomely crunchy power-pop guitar doesn’t hurt either, and neither does a punchy piano line or the welcome late addition of some rock ‘n’ roll organ. Do yourself a favor and listen below.

“Lucky Guy” b/w “Fool Of Myself” is out now on Burger Records. You can purchase it here.