Painted Palms – “Tracers” (Stereogum Premiere)

Painted Palms – “Tracers” (Stereogum Premiere)

The first time I heard Painted Palms’ 2013 single “Spinning Signs,” I was instantly captivated (and slightly obsessed) by their psych-pop instrumentals. The band’s been quiet since Forever dropped last year, but now, cousins Reese Donohue and Christopher Prudhomme are back with a forthcoming sophomore album, Horizons. Although the duo collaborated on song ideas via email (a method they also used while writing Forever), Horizons marks the first time that the duo has been able to work side-by-side in a studio. The record was mixed by former DFA Records house engineer Eric Broucek, who’s worked with LCD Soundsystem and Classixx. The synth-heavy single “Tracers” takes on a colder, ’80s-inspired electronic sound that still incorporates the mesmerizing, echoing vocals of ’60s psych-pop. It’s a darker, echoing response to “Spinning Signs.” Listen.

Horizons tracklist:

01 “Refractor”
02 “Contact”
03 “Gemini”
04 “Glaciers”
05 “Echoes”
06 “Control”
07 “Disintegrate”
08 “Waterfall”
09 “Painkiller”
10 “Tracers”

Painted Palms tour dates:
08/27 San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
09/04 Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right

Horizons is out 9/4 via Polyvinyl; preorder it here.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?