City Calm Down – “Rabbit Run” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

Melbourne quartet City Calm Down embrace New Wave and electro-punk styles, injecting the Joy Division-New Order continuum with traces of the National’s dignified swagger. The band came together in 2008 and caught buzz with their 2012 EP Movements and a series of subsequent singles. They’re set to release their long-awaited debut album In A Restless House this fall, and today they premiere the video for catchy single “Rabbit Run.” In the clip, lead singer Jack Bourke exhaustedly runs through what appears to be a darkly lit and gated up shopping mall. What is he running from? That’s unclear, but it’s attracting a whole security team, knocking over Bourke as they frantically pass by him. It’s a mysterious scene that plays out over the thumping bass and upbeat drums, the hook echoing atop it all: “Believe me/ I’m losing sense of it all.” Watch it below.

In A Restless House tracklist:
01 “Intro”
02 “Border On Control”
03 “Son”
04 “Rabbit Run”
05 “Wandering”
06 “Your Fix”
07 “Nowhere To Start”
08 “If There’s A Light On”
09 “Falling”
10 “Until I Get By”
11 “In A Restless House”

In A Restless House is out 11/6 via I OH YOU Records.