Chvrches Announce New Album Every Open Eye, First Single Out Tomorrow

Chvrches Announce New Album Every Open Eye, First Single Out Tomorrow

Scottish synthpop trio Chvrches have just announced Every Open Eye, the follow-up to their fantastic 2013 debut The Bones Of What You Believe. As Pitchfork reports, the album was recorded at their Alucard Studios in Glasgow, and according to a listing on the Australian retailer Sanity, it’ll be out in September. The first single is premiering tomorrow on SiriusXMU, and it’s rumored to be “Leave A Trace,” described by frontwoman Lauren Mayberry as “the nastiest, snidest tune” on the record. Here’s what she told Pitchfork about the song:

“Leave A Trace” is the middle finger mic-drop. It’s about that point where you’re like, “There’s no point having this conversation anyways: There will be no resolve, I won’t feel better about it, you won’t feel better about it, no outcome from this will actually change my reality.” It makes me feel better to write about that — I’ve done something constructive with it. You don’t put that on other people, you put that into what you do. That’s always the way I’ve written lyrics. My ex-partners are not friends with me, but I’m OK with that.

Here’s the album’s full tracklist:

01 “Never Ending Circles”
02 “Leave A Trace”
03 “Keep You on My Side”
04 “Make Them Gold”
05 “Clearest Blue”
06 “High Enough To Carry You Over”
07 “Empty Threat”
08 “Down Side Of Me”
09 “Playing Dead”
10 “Bury It”
11 “Afterglow”
12 “Get Away”
13 “Follow You”
14 “Bow Down”

Every Open Eye is out 9/25 via Glassnote.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?