Steve Hauschildt – “Vicinities” (Stereogum Premiere)

Steve Hauschildt – “Vicinities” (Stereogum Premiere)

Steve Hauschildt’s ex-Emeralds bandmate Mark McGuire has remained endlessly prolific since the end of the Cleveland ambient project, but Hauschildt hasn’t released an album since 2012’s Sequitur. All evidence suggests Where All Is Fled will be worth the wait. The gorgeous title track plunged sentimental piano figures deep into darkness, while the equally gorgeous new single “Vicinities” is five minutes of gently percussive echo that feels like ripples in an infinite pond. Hear both songs below.

Where All Is Fled tracklist:

01 “Eyelids Gently Dreaming”
02 “Arpeggiare”
03 “A Reflecting Pool”
04 “Anesthesia”
05 “Vicinities”
06 “Edgewater People”
07 “In Spite Of Time’s Disguise”
08 “Where All Is Fled”
09 “The World Is Too Much With Us”
10 “Aequus”
11 “Caduceus”
12 “Sundialed”
13 “Lifelike”
14 “Centrifuge”

Where All Is Fled is out 9/25 on Kranky.

[Photo by Leigh Silverblatt.]

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already disabled it? Click here to refresh.