Raury – “Friends” (Feat. Tom Morello)

Raury – “Friends” (Feat. Tom Morello)

The young boho-chic Atlanta singer/rapper Raury first came onto the scene with his impressive-but-unformed Indigo Child mixtape last year, and he’s pretty much been a preordained next-big-thing ever since. Very soon, we’ll get to find out what he’s really made of. Next month, Raury will release his official debut album All We Need. It’ll include production from people like Danger Mouse, Jacknife Lee, Malay, and Raury himself, as well as collaborations with RZA, Big K.R.I.T., and Rage Against The Machine guitarist Tom Morello. In fact, Morello plays guitar on first single “Friends.” It’s a graceful and starry-eyed new wave ballad that reminds me, weirdly, of Tears For Fears. The lyrics are a bit awkward and tortured — no, Raury, nobody in North Korea taught you how to medita-a-a-ate — but the big and shameless melody makes up for it. Annie Mac debuted the song on BBC Radio today, and now you can hear it. It starts 44 seconds into the embed below.

01 “All We Need”
02 “Revolution”
03 “Forbidden Knowledge” (Feat. Big K.R.I.T.)
04 Woodcrest Manor II”
05 Cpu” (Feat. RZA)
06 “Devil’s Whisper”
07 “Peace Prevail”
08 “Crystal Express”
09 “Love is Not a Four Letter Word”
10 “Her”
11 “Trap Tears” (Feat. Key!)
12 “Mama”
13 “Kingdom Come”
14 “Friends” (Feat. Tom Morello)

All We Are is out 10/16 on LVRN/Columbia.

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?