Yoko Ono, Sean Lennon, Ric Ocasek, & More Remix John Malkovich Reading Plato For Bizarre RSD Release

Here’s what happens when rich people think whatever they do is interesting and deserves to be shared with the rest of the world: For Record Store Day’s Black Friday event this year, actor/director John Malkovich will be releasing an album of him reading Plato’s Allegory Of The Cave over original pieces of music from Yoko Ono and Sean Lennon, OMD, Efterklang, Placebo, the Dandy Warhols, Blondie’s Chris Stein, and more. The release is called Like A Puppet Show (ugh), and the first self-indulgent and completely nonvital track from it is from the Cars’ Ric Ocasek, featuring Malkovich melodramatically reading over some scored music. The release is apparently the first in a series of collaborations between director and photographer Sandro and producer and composer Eric Alexandrakis. God help us all. You can listen via Pitchfork below.

Here’s what Ocasek had to say about his piece:

The poem ALLEGORY OF A CAVE narrated by JOHN MALKOVICH sounded eerie to me, so I set it into that kind of musical landscape. The poem felt current, even though it was written around 380BC by PLATO. Only the ridiculers and weapons have changed as we move through time.

01 “Cryolife 7:14 A.M.” (Mixed by Yoko Ono & Sean Lennon)
02 “Cryocarbon 14C” (Mixed by OMD)
03 “Cryoblue Cheese Ο” (Mixed by Ric Ocasek)
04 “CryoZolon X” (Mixed by Dweezil Zappa)
05 “Cryoparoxsym A” (Mixed by Young The Giant)
06 “Platogenia X And The Caves” (Mixed by the Dandy Warhols)
07 “Cryostat Ø” (Mixed by Efterklang)
08 “Cryoplacebo 47/XXY” (Mixed by Placebo)
09 “Photogenia C (Ruler Of Light)” (Mixed by Chris Stein)
10 “Optimogenia Z [Edit Mix]” (Mixed by Harry Waters)
11 “Cryopian D” (Mixed by Dolores O’Riordan)

Like A Puppet Show is out on Record Store Day Black Friday (11/27).