Painted Zeros – “Call Back” (Stereogum Premiere)

Painted Zeros – “Call Back” (Stereogum Premiere)

Brooklyn band Painted Zeros combine drifting dream-pop and noisy feel-good harmonies on “Call Back,” the latest track pulled from their forthcoming record Floriography. Painted Zeros are a trio on tour, but the project was born from the bedroom acoustics of lead singer Katie Lau; her lyrics revolve around themes of love, un-love, loneliness, and nothingness. The soft aches of Lau’s dreamy, floaty vocals are layered between chiming riffs and sweet guitar melodies, echoing a soft shoegaze influence. Lau’s illusory, delicate verses break and mend hearts at the same time, and the pain of heartache has never sounded better. Listen below along with previous single “Pretty Rig.”

Floriography is released 10/30 via Don Giovanni Records. Pre-order it here.


01. (X) Flatline
02. (O) Only You
03. Call Back
04. Palm Tree
05. Pretty Rig
06. JMZ
07. Leave Me Be (Not Me)
08. Spring
09. Ex Best
10. Flowers From Swann (Swann Song)
11. Closure

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?