Jamie Woon – “Message” & “Thunder”

British crooner Jamie Woon came up on the strength of a single co-produced by Burial called “Night Air.” After five years, that song still feels like it could’ve come out yesterday. But Woon hasn’t released much since his debut album mirrorwriting came out in 2011, and this summer he announced his return with “Sharpness,” a surprisingly soft, woozy track that doubles down on disco-funk vibes — like many many other artists this year. It premiered on Beats 1 Radio, and as we suspected, “Sharpness” was just the beginning. Today he’s announced his full-length Making Time will be out in early November. It features production throughout from Lexxx, and guests like Robin Hannibal, Royce Wood Junior and Willy Mason. Another new track from Woon, “Thunder,” surfaced on Gilles Peterson’s BBC Radio 1 this weekend, and it’s a lilting, jazzy track that you can hear right here around 4:50. He’s also shared a live studio version of “Message,” a song full of yearning that contemplates the future. Watch below.

Here’s the full Making Time tracklist:

01 “Message”
02 “Movement”
03 “Sharpness”
04 “Celebration”
05 “Lament”
06 “Forgiven”
07 “Little Wonder”
08 “Thunder”
09 “Skin”
10 “Dedication”

Making Time is out 11/6 via PMR Records.

Tags: Jamie Woon