The Brainstems – “Simple Joys” (Stereogum Premiere)

The Brainstems originally formed as a Ty Segall and the Coachwhips cover band, and these inspirations are still clear in their feedback-filled garage rock. Their vocalist shares a singing pattern with Parquet Courts’ Andrew Savage, too, which lends the St. Louis band a sense of detached cool. You’d almost think the band is leaned up against the wall in the corner of the room assessing the situation instead of partaking, except that “Simple Joys,” from Brainstems’ debut album No Place Else, is such a headfirst dive into fuzzy, physical rock ‘n’ roll. Listen below.

01 “Stallioning”
02 “Keep It Together”
03 “Redline”
04 “The Fourth”
05 “Simple Joys”
06 “What It Is”
07 “4244”
08 “The Ooze”
09 “Untold Heights”
10 “Warm Skin”
11 “Elevators And Escalators”
12 “The People’s Joy”
13 “Time To Ride”

No Place Else is out 11/27 on Bad Diet Records. Pre-order it from the label or iTunes.