Stream A Track From Jeff Buckley’s New Album Of Previously Unreleased Covers

Stream A Track From Jeff Buckley’s New Album Of Previously Unreleased Covers

It’s been 18 years since Jeff Buckley drowned in the Mississippi River, and it’s hard to believe that the cultishly beloved singer-songwriter left behind any material that hasn’t already been released. But early next year, as NPR reports, we’ll get to hear You And I, a new album of unreleased Buckley music that actually promises to be pretty fascinating. Early in Buckley’s career, before he released his debut album Grace, he recorded himself singing a set of songs to illustrate what kind of sound he had in mind for the album. There are early version of a few of his own songs on there, but most of it is covers, with Buckley taking on tracks like Led Zeppelin’s “Night Flight,” Bob Dylan’s “Just Like A Woman,” and the Smiths’ “The Boy With The Thorn In His Side” and “I Know It’s Over.” (Sadly, we won’t get to hear Buckley demo his famously devastating version of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah.”) Buckley’s version of Sly And The Family Stone’s soul-funk classic “Everyday People” is entirely acoustic and fairly lo-fi, but it shows off the crazy things he was capable of doing with his voice. Below, listen to it and look at the You And I tracklist.

01 “Just Like A Woman” (Bob Dylan cover)
02 “Everyday People” (Sly And The Family Stone cover)
03 “Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Cryin'” (Louis Jordan cover)
04 “Grace”
05 “Calling You” (Jevetta Steele cover)
06 “Dream Of You And I”
07 “The Boy With The Thorn In His Side” (The Smiths cover)
08 “Poor Boy Long Way From Home” (Bukka White cover)
09 “Night Flight” (Led Zeppelin cover)
10 “I Know It’s Over” (The Smiths cover)

You And I is out 3/16 on Legacy.

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.