Starwalker – “Everybody’s Got Their Own Way” (Stereogum Premiere)

Starwalker – “Everybody’s Got Their Own Way” (Stereogum Premiere)

Starwalker - "Everybody's Got Their Own Way" (Stereogum Premiere)

Air’s Jean-Benoît Dunckel and Bang Gang’s Bardi Johannsson write twinkly, spacey synth rock under the fitting name of Starwalker, and we’ve been enjoying their work for a while. Last month they shared a video for “Le President,” the first single off their self-titled debut album. Today they’re back with details on that album and another new song, a wide-eyed, congratulatory anthem with dazzling key melodies and a markedly smiley, catchy rhythm. “Everybody’s Got Their Own Way” ascends sky-high by building layers of laser synth lines, and even a flute at one moment, until reaching a fluttery climax. There’s something spiritually cleansing about this track, like it exists purely for elation — to uplift and pat you on the back. Listen below.

Starwalker tracklist:
01 “Holidays”
02 “Blue Hawaii”
03 “Losers Can Win”
04 “Radio”
05 “Everybody’s Got Their Own Way”
06 “Come And Stay”
07 “Get Me”
08 “Le President”
09 “Bad Weather”
10 “Demeter”

Starwalker is out 4/1 on Prototyp Recording & Bang ehf via Sena ehf. Pre-order at iTunes starting Tuesday, 1/19, and get bonus track “Crazy On You” as an instant grat.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?