Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker – “Silverline” (Stereogum Premiere)

The stately, sentimental folk music Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker conjure on their forthcoming Through The Clouds EP is a magnificent sound to behold. Opening track “Silverline,” for instance, is a traditional English folk song that feels ancient and imminent all at once. Against Walker’s gentle finger-plucking, Clarke applies gracious presence and keen melodic vision to lines such as “For each pound of joy, there’s an ounce of regret/ If the sun rises, you know it will set.” It’s all carefully constructed yet pregnant with emotion that threatens to spill over at any moment. Below, melt into nostalgia as your memory yearns.

And here’s footage of the duo performing “Silverline” live:

EP tracklist:

01 “Silverline”
02 “Hares On The Mountain”
03 “The Tangled Tree”
04 “Done”

Through The Clouds is out 3/4 on Rough Trade.