Car Seat Headrest – “Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales” + Teens Of Denial Details

Last month, Car Seat Headrest previewed Teens Of Denial — their first record of all-new material for Matador, a follow-up to last year’s Teens Of Style — with the needling and chaotic “Vincent,” and they’re following that up with an official album announcement: Teens Of Denial will be out on 5/20. It’s a concept album (of course it is!) centered around a fictional alter-ago character named Joe — peruse the tracklist and some of the narrative will start to make sense, but you’ll have to hold off a few months to piece it all together.

Today, we’re getting a new single called “Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales,” and it’s characteristically sprawling, self-involved, and painfully self-aware. “I have become such a negative person/ It was all just an act/ It was all so easily stripped away,” Toledo sings at one point. He likens drunk drivers to killer whales, two unstoppable and unpredictable forces. The chorus of “it doesn’t have to be like this” rings strong and true, but the rest of the song wobbles around it. It’s another dense and accomplished track from the band, and you can watch a lyric video for it below.

CSH - Teens Of Denial

01 “Fill In The Blank”
02 “Vincent”
03 “Destroyed By Hippie Powers”
04 “(Joe Gets Kicked Out of School for Using) Drugs With Friends (But Says This Isn’t a Problem)”
05 “Just What I Needed/Not Just What I Needed”
06 “Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales”
07 “1937 State Park”
08 “Unforgiving Girl (She’s Not An)”
09 “Cosmic Hero”
10 “The Ballad of the Costa Concordia”
11 “Connect the Dots (The Saga of Frank Sinatra)”
12 “Joe Goes to School”

Teens Of Denial is out 5/20 via Matador. Read our interview with Toledo from last year.