D Generation Reunite, Announce New Album

D Generation were almost the proto-Strokes, a band of glamorously scuzzy New York punk rock kids who came together after a couple of them had played, as teenagers, in the early New York hardcore band Heart Attack. They released three albums in the ’90s and parted ways in 1999. Frontman Jesse Malin went onto some success as a solo singer-songwriter, and the band reunited for a few shows in 2008 and 2011. There have been rumors of a full-on reunion for a while, and now it’s happening. The band has recorded a new album called Nothing Is Anywhere, which guitarist Danny Sage produced. The first single is “Apocalypse Kids,” a beaten-down and romantic punk song with some echoes of the Replacements and Tom Petty in it. Below, listen to the song and check out the Nothing Is Anywhere tracklist.

01 “Queens Of A”
02 “Lonely Ones”
03 “Apocalypse Kids”
04 “21st Century Blues”
04 “Dance Hall Daze”
05 “Mercy Of The Rain”
06 “Hatful Of Rain”
07 “Don’t Believe”
08 “Rich Kids”
09 “Militant”
10 “Piece Of The Action”
11 “Not Goin’ Back”
12 “Tomorrow”

Nothing Is Anywhere is out 7/29 on Bastard Basement Records. D Generation will play 7/30 at New York’s Irving Plaza, with more reunions shows to follow.

Tags: D Generation