The Veils – “Axolotl” (Prod. El-P) (Stereogum Premiere)

The Veils – “Axolotl” (Prod. El-P) (Stereogum Premiere)

Last fall, London pop-noir rockers the Veils announced they were signing to Nettwerk Records, who would release their fifth LP, the follow-up to 2013’s Time Stays, We Go. The forthcoming album, Total Depravity, finds lead singer and songwriter Finn Andrews reuniting with producers Adam “Atom” Greenspan and Nick Launay (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) for the first time since the Veils’ 2006 release Nux Vomica, and will also feature a number of collaborations with Brooklyn rapper and Jewish Deli mogul El-P, the first of which we are premiering today. “Axolotl” boasts menacing instrumentation with Run The Jewels’ trademark stomp-and-sludge slowed to a creeping march over which Andrews waxes poetic about the titular amphibian (a type of Mexican salamander colloquially referred to as a “walking fish”), amongst other vaguely-religious and horrific imagery. All the reverential doom and gloom reaches a fever pitch when Andrews proclaims: “Who needs the devil when you’ve got the lord?” But by the time the dismally grand array of guitar solos and trumpets in the outro fade away, the Veils make the two opposing forces sound like one in the same. Listen below.

Total Depravity tracklist:

01 “Axolotl”
02 “A Bit on the Side”
03 “Low Lays the Devil”
04 “King of Chrome”
05 “Swimming with the Crocodiles”
06 “Here Come the Dead”
07 “In the Blood”
08 “Iodine & Iron”
09 “House of Spirits”
10 “Do Your Bones Glow At Night?”
11 “In the Nightfall”
12. Total Depravity

Total Depravity is out 8/26 via Network Records.

more from New Music