Local Natives – “Villainy”

It had been a while since we heard from Local Natives until “Past Lives” materialized a couple months ago. Although three years have passed since their last full-length effort, Hummingbird, they seem to have some good momentum going. The band took to Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show today to premiere another single and mention an album in the works. They debuted “Villainy,” a bouncy, soaring, sprawling tune with a signature harmony-heavy hook that you might be singing for the rest of the day. Check it out below along with a short interview with Lowe. The song begins at the :53 mark.

A new Local Natives album is forthcoming.

UPDATE: The new Local Natives album is called Sunlit Youth. It’s out 9/9 on Loma Vista and is available for pre-order here. This is the tracklist:

01 “Villainy”
02 “Past Lives”
03 “Dark Days”
04 “Fountain Of Youth”
05 “Masters”
06 “Jellyfish”
07 “Coins”
08 “Mother Emanuel”
09 “Ellie Alice”
10 “Psycho Lovers”
11 “Everything All At Once”
12 “Sea Of Years”

And here’s the album cover: