Devendra Banhart – “Middle Names”

Devendra Banhart – “Middle Names”

It’s been more than three years since starry-eyed free-folk enigma Devendra Banhart released Mala, his last album. This fall, he’s coming back with a new LP with the funk-to-think-about title Ape In Pink Marble. Banhart co-produced the LP with longtime collaborators Noah Georgeson and Josiah Steinbrick. The album opener is a hushed, simple, pretty song called “Middle Names.” It shows Banhart at his most restrained — no scraggly falsetto howls, no surrealist nature imagery, just a restrained and meditative arrangement and delivery and some lyrics about running into a past love at a Walgreen’s. Below, listen to the song and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “Middle Names”
02 “Good Time Charlie”
03 “Jon Lends A Hand”
04 “Mara”
05 “Fancy Man”
06 “Fig In Leather”
07 “Theme For A Taiwanese Woman In Lime Green”
08 “Souvenirs”
09 “Mourner’s Dance”
10 “Saturday Night”
11 “Linda”
12 “Lucky”
13 “Celebration”

Ape In Pink Marble is out 9/23 on Nonesuch.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.