Pixies Announce New Album Head Carrier; Stream “Um Chagga Lagga”

Pixies Announce New Album Head Carrier; Stream “Um Chagga Lagga”

Two years ago, alt-rock heroes Pixies released Indie Cindy, their first album since their 1991 breakup, and it turned out to be pretty divisive. But they didn’t let that stop them. After teasing new recordings, Pixies have announced a whole new album called Head Carrier, which they’ll release this fall. It’s their first album recorded with their new full-time bassist, A Perfect Circle veteran Paz Lenchantin. And they recorded it in London with Killing Joke/Royal Headache producer Tom Dalgety, taking six weeks — much longer than they’ve ever taken on an album before — to put it together. Even so, first single “Um Chagga Lagga,” which they debuted onstage in New York last year, is a welcome dose of bracing, old-school Pixies urgency. On first listen, it sounds pretty great. Below, listen to “Um Chagga Lagga” and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “Head Carrier”
02 “Classic Masher”
03 “Baal’s Back”
04 “Might As Well Be Gone”
05 “Oona”
06 “Talent”
07 “Tenenement Song”
08 “Bel Esprit”
09 “All I Think About Now”
10 “Um Chagga Lagga”
11 “Plaster Of Paris”
12 “All The Saints”

Head Carrier is out 9/30 on Pixiesmusic/PIAS. A limited-edition box-set version of the album will be available from the band’s website.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?