Stranger Things Soundtrack Out Friday, Steve’s Psych-Rock Album Out Now

Stranger Things Soundtrack Out Friday, Steve’s Psych-Rock Album Out Now

Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, two members of the Austin-based band S U R V I V E, scored the excellent Netflix original series Stranger Things. If you haven’t seen the show yet, you should. It fucking rules, and the music in it fucking rules. Today it was announced that the soundtrack will be released in two volumes, the first of which will be out digitally this Friday (8/12) and physically 9/16. Dixon commented on S U R V I V E’s participation in a press release acquired by Pitchfork:

The directors were previously fans of S U R V I V E. They used a song from our first LP in a trailer they made to pitch their concept to Netflix. Once the show was picked up, they reached out to see if we were available to score the show… We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn’t ’80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so that felt modern. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach.

In other news, it’s been brought to the public’s attention that Stranger Things star Joe Keery (bka “Steve”) is in a psych-rock band called Post Animal that’s based out of Chicago. Listen to them below if you’re so inclined, and peruse the Stranger Things, Vol. 1 tracklist.

Stranger Things, Vol. 1 tracklist:

01 “Stranger Things”
02 “Kids”
03 “Nancy And Barb”
04 “This Isn’t You”
05 “Lay-Z-Boy”
06 “Friendship”
07 “Eleven”
08 “A Kiss”
09 “Castle Beyers”
10 “Hawkins”
11 “The Upside Down”
12 “After Sarah”
13 “One Blink For Yes”
14 “Photos in the Woods”
15 “Fresh Blood”
16 “Lamps”
17 “Hallucinations”
18 “Hanging Lights”
19 “Biking To School”
20 “Are You Sure?”
21 “Agents”
22 “Papa”
23 “Cops Are Good At Finding”
24 “No Weapons”
25 “Walking Through The Nether”
26 “She’ll Kill You”
27 “Run Away”
28 “No Autopsy”
29 “Dispatch”
30 “Joyce And Lonnie Fighting”
31 “Lights Out”
32 “Hazmat Suits”
33 “Theoretically”
34 “You Can Talk To Me”
35 “What Else Is There To Do?”
36 “Hawkins Lab”

Stranger Things, Vol. 1 is out digitally 8/12 and physically 9/16 via Lakeshore/Netflix.

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?