Marching Church – “Heart Of Life” Video

Marching Church – “Heart Of Life” Video

Iceage frontman Elias Bender Rønnenfelt is back with a new Marching Church album this fall on Sacred Bones. Sophomore LP Telling It Like It Is sees Marching Church expanding from a solo project into a band of its own comprising electric viola/guitar player Johan S. Weith (Iceage), guitarist Bo Høyer Hansen (Hand Of Dust), bassist Kristian Emdal and drummer Anton Rothstein (both of Lower), and trumpet player Jakob Emil Lamdahl. The album’s lead single “Heart Of Life” is one of the most straightforwardly melodious songs Bender Rønnenfelt has ever released, but for all its brightness there are still shadows lurking around the perimeter. It’s a bit like Nick Cave covering a Bob Dylan song involving the phrase “fist-fucked by destiny.” Watch the band’s self-directed “Heart Of Life” video below.

“Heart Of Life” is also available as a free download via SoundCloud:


01 “Let It Come Down”
02 “Up For Days”
03 “Heart Of Life”
04 “Inner City Pigeon”
05 “Lion’s Den”
06 “2016”
07 “Achilles Heel”
08 “Information”
09 “Calenture”

Telling It Like It Is is out 10/28 via Sacred Bones. Pre-order it at iTunes or Bandcamp.

CREDIT: Elizabeth Peyton

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?