Split Single – “Leave My Mind”

Split Single – “Leave My Mind”

Typically when we talk about Chicago’s Jason Narducy, we rattle off his credentials as a member of Superchunk and Bob Mould’s band, and perhaps we list off his former project Verbow. But ever since his new band Split Single released their 2014 debut album Fragmented World, this project has become Narducy’s right and proper calling card. Split Single are back with a new album called Metal Frames this November, and today they introduce it with a song called “Leave My Mind.”

As with last time around, Superchunk/Bob Mould/Mountain Goats drummer Jon Wurster handles the beats on Metal Frames, but whereas Spoon’s Britt Daniel played bass in Split Single’s original incarnation, now Wilco’s John Stirratt is on board to lend his considerable low-end talents. At the center of it all is Narducy, a true master of meat-and-potatoes guitar rock, delivering some of his strongest songwriting yet.

Case in point: “Leave My Mind” is at once upbeat and haunted, like Elvis Costello’s “Pump It Up” plunged into shadows. Delicate vocal melodies give way to crushing distorted riffs, all of it carried along by a propulsive rhythmic undercurrent. “Why won’t you leave me?” Narducy sings, aching to shake off some ghost from his past. “Why won’t you leave my mind?” The song itself has a similar lingering quality, but it’s a far more pleasant experience. Check it out below.

Metal Frames tracklist:

01 “Glori”
02 “Untry Love”
03 “Blank Ribbons”
04 “Leave My Mind”
05 “Still Invisible”
06 “Tried Goodbye”
07 “White Smoke”
08 “Silences Mercy”
09 “Perilous Pill”
10 “Evaline Make Believe”
11 “Goodnight World”

Metal Frames is out 11/18. Pre-order it in physical or digital formats. Split Single plays an album release show at SPACE in Evanston, IL on Saturday 11/19 as part of WXRT’s Holiday Concert For The Kids. Tickets go on sale here this Friday at 10AM CT.

Split Single
CREDIT: Marina Chavez

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already disabled it? Click here to refresh.