Future States – “Lulu”

Montreal/Ottawa psych-pop five-piece Future States make some versatile grooves that can take on the precision and intricacy of math, smooth into retro sensibilities, glide into folk vibes, or just turn into an all-out jam session. Turns out that makes for some ever engaging tunes that will deftly keep the ear guessing. They’re set to drop their debut full-length effort Casual Listener just before Halloween. The first taste of the album comes in the form of the warped, psych-leaning “Lulu.” The song is a slick shifting tune with intricate drum rolls, fluttering guitar, and bent synths punctuating an irresistible groove and soothing melodies from Chuck Bronson. Bronson’s gauzy almost whispering tenor floats in and out of the morphing soundscape for some serious earworm moments and evocative yearning. Listen.


01 “Forward”
02 “Apostolic”
03 “Lulu”
04 “You Got It All Wrong”
05 “Violencia”
06 “Wish You Well”
07 “Regress To The Mean”

Tour dates:

10/13 Toronto, ON @ The Horseshoe Tavern w/Run Coyote, Glass Hand and Jiants
10/14 Guelph, ON @ The Cornerstone – w/Littlefolk and Iansucks
10/15 Ottawa, ON @ Bar Robo w/Run Coyote
10/16 Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo w/Run Coyote and Pallice
11/05 Fredericton, NB @ Capital Complex w/ Chairs and David in the Dark
11/06 Charlottetown, PEI @ Baba’s Lounge w/Chairs and Sorrey
11/10 Halifax, NS @ Gus’ Pub w/ Chairs
11/11 Sackville, NB @ Thunder & Lightning w/ Chairs and Jon McKiel
11/12 Moncton , NB @ Bar Le Coude w/ Chairs

Casual Listener is out 10/28 via Golden Brown. Pre-order it here.