Bill MacKay – “Aster” Video

Bill MacKay – “Aster” Video

Chicago musician Bill MacKay makes experimental music with a warm, approachable glow, merging strains of Appalachian folk music, gospel, blues, rock, jazz, and country with more avant-garde impulses. He’s signed on with Drag City to release his third album, Esker, this May. Ahead of that release we get a lovely new track called “Aster” accompanied by some impressionistic footage of Chicago, Los Angeles, and Ashland, Oregon by director Marc Riordan. The song itself almost entirely comprises a melodic dance between swooning slide guitar and twinkling piano cascades, generating more beauty in about 90 seconds than most songs manage in twice that time. It’s a gorgeous introduction to the album, so listen below and commence your anticipation.


01 “Aster”
02 “Twilight”
03 “Candy”
04 “Clementine Cotton”
05 “Persona”
06 “Powder Mill Park”
07 “Rise”
08 “The Hollows”
09 “Wail”
10 “Scarlet’s Return”

Esker is out 5/5 on Drag City. Pre-order it from the label, iTunes, or Bandcamp.

CREDIT: Via Nuon

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?