Blitzen Trapper Making Their Theatrical Debut With Wild And Reckless Musical

Blitzen Trapper have written a musical called Wild And Reckless, and they’ll be performing it in their hometown of Portland starting next month. “It was a group of story songs that centered around this couple that finds themselves in trouble, sort of a Bonnie And Clyde-slash-Romeo And Juliet type feeling,” frontman Eric Earley told Entertainment Weekly. After they were approached by a couple of directors at Portland Center Stage to see if they wanted to collaborate on something, they formed those songs into what would become Wild And Reckless.

The band also recorded a limited-edition LP soundtrack for it including all of the songs in the musical, which also incorporates some older songs. (Specifically “Black River Killer,” “Below The Hurricane,” and “Astronaut.”) Along with news of the musical’s production, they’re sharing a song from the soundtrack called “Love Live On.” Listen to that and check out the full musical details below.

01 “Wild And Reckless”
02 “No Man’s Land”
03 “When I’m Dying”
04 “Dance With Me”
05 “Astronaut”
06 “Forever”
07 “Love Live On”
08 “Black River Killer”
09 “Below The Hurricane”
10 “Wind Don’t Always Blow”

Wild And Reckless will run for 28 performances on the U.S. Bank Main Stage at The Armory in Portland, OR. Opening night is 3/24, previews begin 3/16, and regular performances will run through 4/30. More information can be found here. The soundtrack will be only be available for purchase at the performances.