Sparks – “Hippopotamus” Video

Sparks have announced that they’ll put out a new album called Hippopotamus later this year. It’s the follow-up to 2009’s The Seduction of Ingmar Bergman, though the group did release an album with members of Franz Ferdinand under the name FFS a couple years ago. The lead single is also the title track, and it’s wacky and whimsical and comes attached to a lyric video featuring animations of the song’s absurdist lyrics. Their new album features a guest appearance from French director Leos Carax — they’re also writing original songs for Carax’s English-language debut. Listen to the new Sparks song below.

01 “Probably Nothing”
02 “Missionary Position”
03 “Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)”
04 “Scandinavian Design”
05 “Giddy Giddy”
06 “What The Hell Is It This Time?”
07 “Unaware”
08 “Hippopotamus”
09 “Bummer”
10 “I Wish You Were Fun”
11 “So Tell Me Mrs. Lincoln Aside From That How Was The Play?”
12 “When You’re A French Director” (Feat. Leos Carax)
13 “The Amazing Mr. Repeat”
14 “A Little Bit Like Fun”
15 “Life With The Macbeths”

Hippopotamus is out 9/8 via BMG.

Tags: Sparks