Decemberists Members Contribute Original Music To 99% Invisible’s “Anchorwoman Of The Great Alaska Earthquake” Podcast

“Anchorwoman Of The Great Alaska Earthquake” already sounds like a Decemberists song, so it makes sense that several members of the bookish indie-rockers contributed original music to the recent “Anchorwoman Of The Great Alaska Earthquake” episode of the great design podcast 99% Invisible. Recorded live as part of Radiotopia’s West Coast tour, the episode features the Frank Brink Community Players, a group of musicians made up of the Decemberists’ Jenny Conlee, Chris Funk, Nate Query, and John Moen plus Black Prairie’s Jon Neufeld, scoring Jon Mooallem’s story of an Anchorage reporter who improbably broadcast news of the 1964 Alaska earthquake all the way to Toyko. Listen here.