The Fall’s New Song “Victoria Train Station Massacre” Is “Unfortunate Coincidence,” Recorded Before Manchester Bombing

Veteran UK post-punk provocateurs the Fall are no strangers to pissing people off, but this time it appears to have been an accident. Mark E. Smith’s unit has announced the tracklist for a new album called New Facts Emerge, and one song on the tracklist is called “Victoria Train Station Massacre.” The title eerily echoes the deadly suicide bombing outside an Ariana Grande concert at Manchester Arena this month, which resulted in the temporary closure of Victoria railway station. A representative from the Fall’s label, Cherry Red, told Clash, “The track is nothing to do with the events last week, but it is an unfortunate coincidence. The track was recorded and the artwork sent off for manufacture long before the terrible events in Manchester.”

Here’s the full tracklist:

01 “Segue”
02 “Fol De Rol”
03 “Brillo De Facto”
04 “Victoria Train Station Massacre”
05 “New Facts Emerge”
06 “Couples Vs Jobless Mid 30s”
07 “Second House Now”
08 “O! ZZTRRK Man”
09 “Gibbus Gibson”
10 “Groundsboy”
11 “Nine Out Of Ten”

New Facts Emerge is out 7/28 on Cherry Red.

Tags: The Fall