Coca Leaf – “New Soft Dawn”

Opening with a buzz and distortion that mimics a Funkadelic alien spaceship landing, Coca Leaf’s “New Soft Dawn” is a bright, peculiar track. An infectious disco drumbeat finagles with energizing cowbell. Ethereal piano lines hide in the back. Monotone vocals stutter about playing guitar (“I play guitar, I don’t care, I don’t have to play guitar”), not giving a shit, and “the other side.” Formed years ago, Coca Leaf includes Merchandise members David Vassalotti and Carson Cox, ZZ Ramirez (Destruction Unit, Ukiah Drag, etc), and Ben Greenberg (Uniform, the Men, etc.). Their new album Deep Marble Sunrise will be out this July. Listen to “New Soft Dawn” below.

Deep Marble Sunrise is out 7/14 on Wharf Cat Records. Pre-order it here.