Yusuf / Cat Stevens – “See What Love Did To Me”

Yusuf Islam, the artist formerly known as Cat Stevens, will release a new album this fall called The Laughing Apple. The project celebrates the 50th anniversary of debut album Matthew And Son, and it reunites him with Paul Samwell-Smith, who helmed several releases back when he was making his legend in the early ’70s. Today Yusuf has shared its lead single “See What Love Did To Me,” a typically lovely folk-pop sway. Here’s what he told Rolling Stone about it:

“See What Love Did To Me” is a a song which extolls the virtue of Love and its destructive properties. Based on a poem written by Yunus Emre, a Thirteenth Century Turkish poet. I fell upon the guitar riff back in 2006, while recording An Other Cup. It took eight years to find the right words and sentiments to marry with the joyous tune. It has musical ripples of Africa as well as India flowing through.

Like a blindfolded bee, guided only by his heart to the bosom of the flower, Love is the greatest Divine instinct that gives us wings to fly to the supreme heights of our humanity. It takes us to a garden where our minds can surrender reason in exchange for the nectar of Love. Worship is in essence a state total devotion to whoever we adore the most and expressing our yearning for closeness and proximity to our Beloved and where we forever want to be.

Listen below.


01 “Blackness Of The Night”
02 “See What Love Did To Me”
03 “The Laughing Apple”
04 “Olive Hill”
05 “Grandsons”
06 “Mighty Peace”
07 “Mary And The Little Lamb”
08 “You Can Do (Whatever)”
09 “Northern Wind (Death of Billy The Kid)”
10 “Don’t Blame Them”
11 “I’m So Sleepy”

The Laughing Apple is out 9/15 on Cat-O-Log/Decca.

CREDIT: Danny Clinch