Stream Ice Balloons Fiesta

Back in June we brought you “Calypso Heartworm” from the debut LP by Ice Balloons, the band featuring TV On The Radio’s Kyp Malone plus members of Midnight Masses, Samiam, and Surfbort. Today we’re premiering the full album, which is called Fiesta and which, despite its title, is only a party record in the most peculiar sense. Ice Balloons specialize in a noisy form of psychedelic post-punk that reminds me of Liars or TVOTR at their most aggressive and experimental, hawking rangy sonic explorations heavy on bass, rhythm, and outbursts of static. It’s not the most approachable music, but it’s certainly boisterous enough to send a room into chaotic fits of body movement. Enjoy the whole thing below before its release this Friday.

Fiesta is out 8/11 on Volar Records. Pre-order it here.