Courtney Barnett – “Nameless, Faceless” Video

Courtney Barnett – “Nameless, Faceless” Video

Just a few months ago, Courtney Barnett, one of the best things that’s happened to indie rock in years, released Lotta Sea Lice, her very good low-stakes collaborative album with Kurt Vile. And this morning, she’s announced that she’ll follow up her 2015 instant classic Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit with a new album called Tell Me How You Really Feel. Barnett teased the album earlier this week, but now she’s made it official, sharing a video for “Nameless, Faceless,” a stomping, propulsive lead single with a powerful, plainspoken feminist message and backing vocals from the Breeder’s Kim Deal. (Kim Deal and Kelley Deal also both appear on LP track “Crippling Self Doubt And A General Lack Of Self-Confidence.”) Lucy Dyson made the song’s animated video, turning it into a sort of moving collage. Below, check out the video and the tracklist for the new album, as well as the dates for the short North American tour that Barnett will launch in March.

01 “Hopefulessness”
02 “City Looks Pretty”
03 “Charity”
04 “Need A Little Time”
05 “Nameless, Faceless”
06 “I’m Not Your Mother, I’m Not Your Bitch”
07 “Crippling Self Doubt And A General Lack Of Self-Confidence”
08 “Help Your Self”
09 “Walkin’ On Eggshells”
10 “Sunday Roast”

5/06 – San Francisco, CA @ August Hall
5/10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Sanctuary At Pico Union
5/14 – Austin, TX @ Saengerrunde
5/16 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
5/19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall Of Williamsburg
5/21 – Chicago, IL @ Chicago Cultural Center, Tiffany Dome

Tell Me How You Really Feel is out 5/18 on Mom + Pop/Marathon/Milk! Records.

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?