The Faint – “Child Asleep” Video

A couple months ago, Omaha synth-punk legends the Faint released a new track, “Chameleon Nights,” and it turns out that was a precursor to a brand-new album, their first since 2014’s Doom Abuse. It’s called Egowerk and today the band is sharing a new song from it, “Child Asleep,” that also happens to kick off the album. Here’s what the band’s Todd Fink had to say about the album in a press release:

Social media is turning well-meaning people into self-important cruel monsters. Egowerk’s focus is on the current social state of the Internet: an amazing world of free knowledge, communication, and opportunity is proving to be a toxic battleground. One where the people most sure of their opinion are quick to take a stand and destroy anyone who doesn’t agree with them.

“Child Asleep” comes with a glitchy, unsettling video directed by Nik Fackler. Watch and listen below.

01 “Child Asleep”
02 “Chamelon Nights”
03 “Life’s A Joke”
04 “Alien Angel”
05 “Egowerk”
06 “Own My Eyes”
07 “Source Of The Sun”
08 “Another World”
09 “Quench The Flame”
10 “Young & Realistic”
11 “Automaton”

Egowerk is out 3/15 via Saddle Creek. Pre-order it here.