Hand Habits – “placeholder” Video

Hand Habits – “placeholder” Video

In 2017, Meg Duffy released their first album as Hand Habits, the subtle Wildly Idle (Humble Before The Void), which came on the back of Duffy’s work as a session musician for the likes of Kevin Morby and Weyes Blood.

Now, Duffy is ready to release their second album as Hand Habits: placeholder will be out in March. “A big aspect of my songwriting and the way I move through the world depends on my relationships with people. The songs on placeholder are about accountability and forgiveness,” Duffy said in a press release. “These are all real stories. I don’t fictionalize much.”

Today, they’re sharing the album’s title track. It’s grander in scope than anything on the debut, more intricate and unspooling but still intensely focused. “I was just a placeholder/ A place and nothing more/ I was just a placeholder with nothing to stand for” Duffy sings.

It comes attached to a music video directed by Madeline Kenney that finds Duffy on a dock getting ready to set sail. Watch and listen below.

01 “placeholder”
02 “can’t calm down”
03 “pacify”
04 “jessica”
05 “yr heart [reprise]”
06 “heat”
07 “are you serious?”
08 “wildfire”
09 “what’s the use”
10 “guardrail/pwrline”
11 “what lovers do”
12 “the book on how to change part ii”

placeholder is out 3/1 via Saddle Creek Records. Pre-order it here.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already disabled it? Click here to refresh.