Prince Daddy & The Hyena – “Lauren (Track 2)” Video

Prince Daddy & The Hyena – “Lauren (Track 2)” Video

Prince Daddy & The Hyena have amassed a sizable number of devotees for their commanding power-punk songs, which up ’til this point have been collected on their 2016’s full-length I Thought You Didn’t Even Like Leaving their 2015 debut EP Adult Summers. Today, the Albany-based band is announcing their sophomore album, which is called Cosmic Thrill Seekers. They teased it a couple of weeks ago with opening track “I Lost My Life” and now they’re sharing another new single, “Lauren (Track 2).”

It’s a force to be reckoned with. Kory Gregory’s vocals are bloody howls on its monster of a hook: “Stay at least ’til I’m asleep/ ‘Cus I’m pretty fucking confident/ That I’ll die the next time/ I’m alone in my bedroom.” All Prince Daddy songs capture the energy of the collective experience — bodies jumping together in unison, pulling each other up as a whole — even as they excavate what it means to be lonely and alone.

Their new track comes along with a music video that emphasizes that sense of community, a rolling opening credits sequence of everyone that’s supported them along the way. Watch and listen below.

ACT I: The Heart/Passenger:
01 “I Lost My Life”
02 “Lauren (Track 2)”
03 “Fuckin’ A”
04 “Dialogue”
05 “Cosmic Thrill Seeking Forever”

ACT II: The Brain/Driver
06 “Slip”
07 “The Prototype Of The Ultimate Lifeform”
08 “Breather”
09 “Ursula Merger”

ACT III: The Roar/Random Passerby
10 “Dream Nails”
11 “C’mon & Smoke Me Up”
12 “Trying Times”
13 “Klonopin”
14 “Wacky Misadventures Of The Passenger”

Cosmic Thrill Seekers is out 6/28 via Counter Intuitive Records/Big Scary Monsters. Pre-order it here.

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?