Deerhoof, Sufjan to Appear On New Danielson Record

This isn’t exactly breaking news, since it was announced a few weeks ago, but it’s worth mentioning anyway. Daniel Smith, AKA Brother Danielson, leader of the wacky Danielson Famile is releasing a new album, Ships on March 1st, 2006. Danielson (he’s dropping the “Brother”… also considered was “B. Diddy”) is playing with Deerhoof as his backing band, and Daniel Smith’s good buddy Sufjan Stevens appears on the album as well. CMJ promises satisfaction to impatient vinyl fans:

While Ships has a release date of March 1 on Secretly Canadian, Smith will also drop three 7″-only releases sometime before the album, each under a different label (Kill Rock Stars, Anticon, and Sounds Familyre) and each with different people behind the boards (including Steve Albini and Mark Kramer).

The Danielson Famile definitely falls into the same love/hate camp as bands like Xiu Xiu, so this might not be for everyone… even so, Daniel Smith plus Deerhoof divided by Sufjan will be anything but boring. Here’s the tracklist:

01. Ship the Majestic Suffix
02. Cast It at the Setting Sail
03. Bloodbook on the Halfshell
04. Did I Step on Your Trumpet?
05. My Lion Sleep Tonight
06. Two Sitting Ducks
07. When It Comes to You I’m Lazy
08. Kids Pushing Kids
09. Time That Bald Sexton
10. He Who Flattened Your Flame Is Gettin’ Torched
11. Five Stars and Two Thumbs Up

Tags: Deerhoof