Sufjan Says, “Get Behind Me, Santa!”

Via Asthmatic Kitty:

As some of you may or may not know, for the past few years, as a holiday tradition, Sufjan has embarked on an extraordinary experiment to record an annual Christmas EP.

We know.

It started in 2001, the year of Epiphanies, and continued onward (skipping only 2004), culminating into an odd and idiosyncratic catalog of music that has only existed in the Asthmatic Kitty archives (and on a number of file sharing sites)…

That’s right, the first Sufjan boxed set is heading our way! On 11/21, you can buy Songs For Christmas for the Sufjan lover in your life. Here’s what you get:
? Five individually packaged CD EPs!
? Five Christmas stickers!
? Extensive liner notes and short stories by Sufjan Stevens!
? An original Christmas essay by Rick Moody!
? An animated music video and comic strip by Tom Eaton!
? A Christmas Songbook with lyric sheets and chord charts–so you can sing along too!
? An original Christmas Family Portrait painting of Santa Sufjan (with wife and kids!) by Jacques Bredy!

Peace: Songs for Christmas, Vol. V (recorded June 2006)
1. Once in Royal David?s City
2. Get Behind Me, Santa!
3. Jingle Bells
4. Christmas in July
5. Lo! How A Rose E?er Blooming
6. Jupiter Winter
7. Sister Winter
8. O Come O Come Emmanuel
9. Star of Wonder
10. Holy, Holy, Holy
11. The Winter Solstice

Sufjan’s Christian? Sweet. We can’t wait to spend XMas with Katrina Kerns. Here’s one of the new songs from the Topic Magazine coverboy.

Sufjan Stevens – “Sister Winter” (MP3)

And as for Sufjan’s next state-themed CD?

“If I haven’t concluded the project in my life,” he tells Guitar World Acoustic, “I’ll definitely pass it on to someone else. Start a franchise, farm it out to other songwriters.”

Not that we’re predicting Soof’s death, but who would you like to see take on The 50 States? You know, aside from Kasabian.