Arctic Monkeys Win Mercury Prize

Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not won that British music contest all the bloggers like to write about.

According to, upon his band’s win, main Monkey Alex Turner said, “Somebody call 999, Richard Hawley’s been robbed!” (Ooh, sitcom idea!)

Here’s who they beat:
Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan – ‘Ballad Of The Broken Seas’
Editors – ‘The Back Room’
Guillemots – ‘Through The Windowpane’
Richard Hawley – ‘Coles Corner’
Hot Chip – ‘The Warning’
Muse – ‘Black Holes & Revelations’
Zoe Rahman – ‘Melting Pot’
Lou Rhodes – ‘Beloved One’
Scritti Politti – ‘White Bread Black Beer’
Sway – ‘This Is My Demo’
Thom Yorke – ‘The Eraser’

What say you? Were any of these artists robbed?