New N.A.S.A. (Feat. Kanye West, Santogold & Lykke Li) – “Gifted”

Squeak E. Clean and DJ Zegon are close to releasing an LP from their N.A.S.A. (North America/South America) project. The duo cook the beats, and turned to their enviable contact list to collect a headspinning list of contributors, including Tom Waits, Karen O, Nick Zinner, Spank Rock, David Byrne, M.I.A., RZA, Method Man, George Clinton, Chuck D, John Frusciante, and Ol’ Dirty Bastard. Yes, ODB, which should give you an idea of how long this thing’s been in gestation. The caught Kanye for this track, “Gifted,” before he discovered his 808 or his heartbreak, so for those who like their Ye served sans autotune, get ready to enjoy lots of lyrics about being under-appreciated (right), linked to Santi defiantly singing about knowing what she’s fighting for (but never telling) by a little bit of Lykke doing studio-snipped syllabic scatting and helping on the hook. It’s mostly a vent session for a trio of ascendant artists to bitch about how it ain’t easy being gifted, y’all, but it’s got those ruptured-tweeter/club-cut synths that the Justice fans take their drugs to and the N.A.S.A. dudes bring an authentic feel so certainly you can dance to it.

And here’s a video for “Money” featuring David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge & Z-Trip:

Quite the tracklist:

01 “Intro”
02 “The People Tree” (feat. David Byrne, Chali 2na, Gift of Gab,& Z-Trip)
03 “Money” (feat. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge, & Z-Trip)
04 “NASA Music” (feat. Method Man, E-40, & DJ Swamp)
05 “Way Down” (feat. RZA, Barbie Hatch, & John Frusciante)
06 “Hip Hop” (feat. KRS-One, Fatlip, & Slim Kid Tre)
07 “Four Rooms, Earth View”
08 “Strange Enough” (feat. Karen O, Ol’ Dirty Bastard, & Fatlip)
09 “Spacious Thoughts” (feat. Tom Waits & Kool Keith)
10 “Gifted” (feat. Kanye West and others TBD)
11 “A Volta” (feat. Sizzla, Amanda Blank, & Lovefoxxx)
12 “There’s a Party” (feat. George Clinton & Chali 2na)
13 “Whachadoin?” (feat. Spank Rock, M.I.A., Santogold & Nick Zinner)
14 “O Pato” (feat. Kool Kojak & DJ Bãboa)
15 “Samba Soul” (feat. Del Tha Funkee Homosapien & DJ Qbert)
16 “The Mayor” (feat. The Cool Kids, Ghostface Killah, DJ AM & Scarface)
17 “N.A.S.A. Anthem”

The Spirit Of Apollo is out in the UK on 2/16 via Anti-.