A Tribute To The Band

Imagine your ideal list of artists to feature on a cover album in tribute to The Band. Now get real, ’cause that’s never gonna happen. Instead, take a look at the set of folks taking turns on Band tunes for the forthcoming collection Endless Highway: The Music Of The Band. Here’s the tracklist:

“I Shall Be Released” – Jack Johnson
“The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” – The Allman Brothers
“Rocking Chair” – Death Cab For Cutie
“It Makes No Difference” – My Morning Jacket
“The Weight” – Lee Ann Womack
“Acadian Driftwood” – The Roches
“Whispering Pines” – Jakob Dylan
“Up On Cripple Creek” – Gomez
“King Harvest” – Bruce Hornsby
“Unfaithful Servant” – Rosanne Cash
“Rag Mama Rag” – Blues Traveler
“Bessie Smith” – Joe Henry
“This Wheel’s On Fire” – Guster
“Chest Fever” – Widespread Panic
“Ain’t No More Cane” – John Hiatt & North Mississippi Allstars
“Look Out Cleveland” – Jackie Greene
“Ophelia” – Animal Liberation Orchestra
“Stage Fright” – Steve Reynolds
“When I Paint My Masterpiece” – Josh Turner
“The Shape I’m In” – Gov’t Mule
“Life is a Carnival” – Trevor Hall

Hey at least MMJ made if off of your unrealistically-greedy, ideal list. Stream the entire record here.

Endless Highway: The Music Of The Band is out 1/30/07 on 429 Records.