The ‘Gum Drop LXIX: Hear New DM Stith, Win A Smashing Pumpkins iPod

Brooklyn-via-Buffalo songwriter DM Stith entered the Asthmatic Kitty stable via the design work on Shara Worden, aka My Brightest Diamond, albums and the vocals and piano he contributed to her Bring Me The Workhorse. He released the Curtain Speech EP earlier this month (12/9). Stith’s full-length debut Heavy Ghost, which includes no songs from the EP but does include appearances from Worden and Sufjan Stevens, is out 3/10 on Asthmatic Kitty. “Ecstatic Only Static Peace (Peace to Me),” though, is a holiday song he wrote especially for this yuletide ‘Gum Drop. Listen here.

This week we also have a cool Christmas present for one lucky subscriber: an 8 GB iPod Nano that includes the entire Smashing Pumpkins catalog including rarities, B-sides, and a brand new unreleased song, “Translucent” (studio recording). Not many bands release new songs via an iPod. The giveaway is in support of the Pumpkins’ new double 20th anniversary DVD, If All Goes Wrong. The winner also gets a copy of that.

It looks like this:

Directed/produced by Jack Gulick (Bruce Springsteen, Metallica, Steve Miller Band, Godsmack) and Daniel E Catullo III (Steve Miller Band, Godsmack, Rush, Dave Matthews Band), the DVD set includes a 105-minute documentary as well as the Fillmore Residency, a full concert filmed in late July and early August of 2007 over five of the 11 sold-out nights at the famed Fillmore Auditorium in San Francisco, CA. It includes behind-the-scenes footage like this:

The contents:

“If All Goes Wrong” documentary
“Voices Of The Ghost Children” featurette
Interview with The Who guitarist, Pete Townshend

The Fillmore Residency
01 “The Rose March” *
02 “Peace + Love” *
03 “99 Floors” *
04 “Superchrist”
05 “Lucky 13″
06 “Starla”
07 “Death From Above”
08 “The Crying Tree Of Mercury”
09 “Winterlong”
10 “Heavy Metal Machine”
11 “Untitled”
12 “No Surrender” *
13 “Gossamer” *
14 “Zeitgeist”

Bonus Tracks: Live From The Floor Of The Fillmore
01 “99 Floors”
02 “Peace + Love”
03 “No Surrender”
04 “Mama”*
05 “Promise Me”*

*previously unreleased

One winner gets a copy of the DVD set and the Pumpkins-stuffed iPod. What a perfect post-holiday gift for that Smashing Pumpkins fan on your list (i.e., you).


Enter to win it here. And you still have a few days left to win last week’s ‘Gum Drop Giveaway, a Crosley CR40 Mini-Turntable.

[DM Stith photo by Steven Johnson]