Boduf Songs – “Decapitation Blues” (Stereogum Premiere)

When I first heard Boduf Songs, aka UK-to-Toledo songwriter Mat Sweet, I was taken by his mix of pastoral folk and something darker (via “various shades of black” such as “discreet bits of noise and desolate Current 93-style lyrics”). Throughout his oeuvre, he’s kept to a minimal acoustic whisper, even when giving us songs titled “Pitiful Shadow Engulfed In Darkness,” “Puke a Pitch Black Rainbow To The Sun,” and “Things Not To Be Done On The Sabbath.” This shifts when he decides to occasionally plug-in on his fourth collection This Alone Above All Else In Spite Of Everything., the follow-up to 2008’s How Shadows Chase The Balance. Hear it firsthand via “Decapitation Blues” and its cathartic Om-esque second half. (If Om were into Peter Sotos, less so Tibetan chanting.)

Boduf Songs – “Decapitation Blues”

The song titles are worth reading. (For the record, most are still whispered.)

01 “Bought Myself A Cat O’Nine”
02 “Decapitation Blues”
03 “Absolutely Null And Utterly Void”
04 “I Have Decided To Pass Through Matter”
05 “Green They Were, And Golden Eyed”
06 “We Get on Slowly”
07 “The Giant Umbilical Cord That Connects Your Brain To The Centre Of The Universe”
08 “I Am Going Away And I Am Never Coming Back”

The album’s opening sentiments: “My hammer feels the urge / to nail you to the ground / To smash one through your cheek,” etc. The closing line in that same chilly piano-drifting opener: “Lay still, you breath too much.”

This Alone Above All Else In Spite Of Everything is out 9/6 via Kranky.

Tags: Boduf Songs